Winner of 6th Accessible Airport Award Announced!

Winner of 6th Accessible Airport Award Announced!

We are happy to announce the 6th winner of the EDF – ACI-Europe Accessible Airport Award! This year’s most accessible European airport is iGA Istanbul Grand Airport.

As every year, the airport was selected through a two-phase process, being assessed by the EDF transport email expert group and relevant members of the executive committee. An opinion from DG Move of the European Commission was also provided to during the second phase.

The jury was impressed with the innovative solutions for accessibility applied by the iGA airport such as the Accessible Route operating in conjunction with Loud Steps and featuring a single-lane tactile paving surface (which the airport notes to be a first in the world) to aid guests using mobility canes to reach their boarding gates independently in the domestic terminal. It is also welcomed to see the possibility to communicate with airport assistance in sign language as well as its use in providing information about social distancing measures, and other information on the airport website. Use of braille and induction loops in lifts to make them accessible is also appreciated, so is having accessible emergency measures and staff trained to provide assistance to persons with disabilities during emergencies. Lastly, close cooperation with organizations representing different disability communities, as well as the inclusive hiring policy of the airport are commendable!

Background information

As part of a Memorandum of Understanding signed by ACI Europe and the European Disability Forum (EDF) in 2016, the Accessible Airport Award honours the best airport in Europe in terms of its level of accessibility as well as the range and the quality of the assistance services offered. It is also intended to encourage other airports to continue their work on removing the barriers that people with disabilities and persons with reduced mobility (PRM) can still face when travelling by air.
Past winners of the award include Copenhagen airport (2020), Gatwick Airport (2019), Paphos airport (2018), Larnaca airport (2017), Dublin airport (2016).


Mher Hakobyan – Accessibility Officer